The Journey – Getting Rolling – First steps

1 Mar

1/28/2014

I am using Bill Phillips book Body for Life to get back on track. I did this program about 10 years ago or so and had very good success. However, I got cocky at the end, strayed from my plan, and fell off course after losing around 43 lbs. and feeling really good about myself.

I probably never came back to it because I knew it was hard. Maybe not hard, because it’s really not. It’s just not as easy as doing nothing. That’s why I probably never came back to it. I also know it works. It’s the only thing in my overweight life that has ever worked that I can recall. I’ve done this-or-that and it’s lasted for awhile, but never long term and I’ve wound up right back where I started and worse.

I’m going to do a better job this time and follow the program word-for-word.

It begins with a self assessment. An honest reflection. I’ve never been much of a private person. I try to always be open & honest in all aspects of my life, so it’s really not a big deal to put out my own dreams and goals for this program right here. It’s in hopes that I can actually look back and go “WOW! I did it!” and moreso, that it helps someone else who may see it and feel exactly like me. I’m sure most people who’ve let themselves go like I have, probably feel very much the same.

Here it is:

1/28/2014

Reasons to change

  • I am shocked how big I am when I see myself in pictures/videos.  I don’t see myself that big in the mirror, but the camera does not lie.  That’s what other people see and I don’t feel that’s me.  I want my physical manifestation to be the guy who I see in the mirror.
  • I want to live.  I know I’m at a high risk of an early grave.  I don’t want to go until I’m ready.  I have too much left to do, too much fun to have, too much life to live, not to mention watch my kids grown into what I hope will be healthy, successful adults.  And if they don’t, they’ll need me around to help them overcome their obstacles.
  • I do not want to work at my current career much past 55 years old, but I do not want to quit working at all.  I want to have the choice to continue at my current career or sacrifice some income and find something to do that I love instead.  I just want that choice.  I’ve done the right financial things to put myself in that position where I won’t need as much income after 55 to keep my present lifestyle, but today, I hardly have the energy to get off the couch.
  • I would love to get back to scuba diving regularly.  It was so peaceful and serene, it was almost always a religious experience when we had good conditions and got in the zone.  My current level of fitness has me too scared to get back to this strenuous activity that I love.  I know I’m too out of shape to dive safely.
  • I love to volunteer my time and help people.  I have for many years.  It is part of who I am.  However, as I’m aging and getting bigger, I find the energy to take on these opportunities to help others just isn’t there.  I feel great after volunteering and helping someone, but getting going seems to be harder and harder due to complete lack of energy.
  • I get excited to go do things, as I always have, but once the date comes near, I just want to skip it.  Go to bed.  Lay around at home.  I don’t get excited anymore.  And I don’t want to go.  I just don’t have any energy and it really bothers me.

What I would like to achieve in the next 12 weeks

  • I would like to feel I have the energy to make it through a whole day without getting tired and  laying down for a nap or at least wishing I could. 
  • I would like to stop pushing my TO DO’s on my task list continually back day after day.  I would like the energy to tackle challenges and tasks head on and get things done rather than moving things around!
  • I would like photographs of me to not look as embarrassing as the most recent photos and videos of myself have been.  I don’t want to fret “how bad is it going to be” when someone takes my picture (which I know is going up on Facebook.)  I used to be proud of my looks.  I’d like to be proud again.
  • I would like to get my dive gear on and take a dip and feel good about it and not scared.
  • I would like to fit back into my favorite Levi’s that have been snug, but I can now no longer button.  I don’t think I’m too far from fitting into those.  I also got a beautiful new Liverpool jersey for Xmas 2013, that I’m just a bit too big for.  I’d love to wear these pants, this jersey and get a good picture in them.  That would be very satisfying.
  • I would like to motivate my family (we’re all plus size) to follow in my footsteps.  I would like to set the example and lead them.  My son’s on board already with this program, but I know if I’m successful it will motivate him and all my family to get going.

Five Specific Goals

  • In twelve weeks, I will be under 290lbs. in weight.  This will be the lowest I’ve been since I can remember.  At least a decade.
  • In twelve weeks, I will fit into my favorite pair of Levis and Liverpool jersey and have someone take a picture of me I feel comfortable with.
  • In twelve weeks, I will work off 10% of my body fat.
  • In twelve weeks, I will be back scuba diving and doing it as regularly as I used to; about twice/month.
  • In twelve weeks, I will regularly be eating foods that I consider gross or icky today.

Three Unauthorized Patterns of Action

  • No drinking alcohol.  Drinking leads to hangovers.  Which lead to a day of feeling like shit and getting nothing done.  Not to mention, greasy terrible food is all that sounds good.
  • No junk food.  I snack on a lot of junk food and drink a lot of soda.
  • No missing workouts.  I need to make my workout and my food plan a top priority status everyday.

Three New Patterns of Action

  • Review these dreams and goals in the morning when I wake up and in the evening when I go to bed.
  • Plan every day’s detailed workout and detailed meal plan before the day begins.  Be prepared for the next day and make it a top priority to follow the plan.
  • Try eating/cooking new foods and experimenting in the kitchen.  (I really enjoy cooking).
Leave a Reply

