Day 15 – Dublin

28 Jun

Had a quick stop this morning at my surprise restaurant for the girls. I had seen this article about 2 months ago (http://www.usatoday.com/story/travel/destinations/2013/03/02/10-coolest-mcdonalds-around-the-world/1957761/) detailing the 10 Coolest McDonalds in the world. One of them happens to be in Bray, Ireland which is just about 30 minutes south of Dublin and on our way back to the airport to drop off the car.  That’s gotta be worth a stop.

The building was the old Bray town hall from the mid 19th century and McDonalds gave it a once-over and now it sits at the town centre.  The branding on the outside is very subtle, and if you didn’t know it was a McDonalds, I suppose you could easily miss it.  It was pretty cool and Egg McMuffins were enjoyed by all courtesy of this big spender.  I paid for breakfast.

I'm lovin' it!

I’m lovin’ it!

Next stop was to gas up the car and drop it off.  We’d had it a week and while I was anxious to be “car free” again, I was very sad to see it go.  With the car you always have at the back of your mind that somethings going to happen to it, and what a pain in the ass, and what do I do….I appreciated that anxiety leaving.  However foundless it was.  The car was great!  And we had no problems at all.  I actually enjoyed driving in Ireland very much.  I love road trips and this was kind of the ultimate.  Especially taking the little country roads with no sides to speak of.  Very narrow.  Very windy.  Very fun.  Not many freeways, but highways here and there.  After 24 hours behind the wheel I felt very much at home and would have no problems driving anywhere else in Europe now.   The signage and roads, for the most part, are terrific.  And we did about 1400 km, so around 900 miles or so I suppose.  What a blast to drive through Ireland.  I highly recommended it.

Here's me and my Skoda.  I'm not sure if I've ever heard of a Skoda, but it was a kick ass little hatchback and a great ride around Ireland.

Here’s me and my Skoda. I’m not sure if I’ve ever heard of a Skoda, but it was a kick ass little hatchback and a great ride around Ireland.

Here's the route map of our jouney through this awesome country.  We saw a lot in a very short amount of time, but you know we stopped to smell the roses (and drink the Guiness) frequently.

Here’s the route map of our jouney through this awesome country. We saw a lot in a very short amount of time, but you know we stopped to smell the roses (and drink the Guiness) frequently.

Back in Dublin now, we took the Airlink back to the city centre and checked into our hotel.  Dropped the bags, and went out to get drunk.  Wound back up at one of our favorite pubs so far, O’Sheas.  Very cool.  Very traditional.  Not a ton of tourists.  Spent the afternoon drinking and reminicising and deciding what we’ll do tomorrow.

We learned there were would be traditional Irish music there that night and Irish dancing.  Ran back to the hotel to nap and rest.  The girls did girly shit and didn’t sleep, but I took full advantage.  We headed back to O’Sheas for a wonderful dinner.  We noted this place is always packed at meal time so they must serve great food.  We concur.  It was awessome.  The music turned out to just be a guitarist and accordian player.  The 8 Irish dancers must’ve been from the old folks home as the baby of the group was probably 60.  However, it was fun as we watched them boogie down.  Didn’t stay more than an hour before we sought out a different kind of fun.

Found a bar up the street called The Celtic, which was a must younger crowd.  The place doubles as a hostel and Michelle is staying here a few extra nights before she heads home to Seattle.  Jenny and I leave on Saturday.  The place was fun and the music flowed.  Not so much traditional Irish music, but more covers with an Irish twist.  Much more lively and we had another fun night listening to the music, soaking up the energy and ambience around us, and having a general all around good time.

Off to bed, and our last full day in Dublin is tomorrow.

Love,

Brentallica

Leave a Reply

