Day 14 – Back towards Dublin

28 Jun

Woke up today totally refreshed. We all slept until about 9:30am which meant we had to jam out in an hour. After unsuccessfully figuring out how to get hot water (you had to press a boost button out on the wall outside the loo and wait a bit. Well we hit it, we waited, but the water was as cold as it was when we started.) Michelle and I braved a cold shower, but Jenny (stinky) wasn’t as bold.

Anyways, off back towards Dublin now and our first stop today was at the Rock of Cashel. I don’t know if any of us knew exactly what the Rock was, but it wasn’t what we thought it was. However, it wound up being very cool. It’s the ruins of an old monastery. Not a castle at all. And it’s a huge monastery. Or it was. Toured through the ruins and there’s some remarkable remnants of days gone by including what was once an amazing painted ceiling which I imagine is somewhat similar to the Sistine chapel. (Or as Justin Beiber, douche, would say, the Sixteenth Chapel). Anyways there was enough left you could tell this place was once very rare, very holy, and very beautiful. There was some scaffolding up which kind of distracted from the visit, but nothing too bad. Also got to see St. Patrick’s cross, or what’s left of it, housed here inside where it’s protected. Proved to be a very good and educating stop thanks to our wonderful guide.

Jenny at The Rock.  There is no actual rock.  It's just what it's called as it's built on a massive rock.

Jenny at The Rock. There is no actual rock. It’s just what it’s called as it’s built on a massive rock.

The Rock.  Big.  Foreboding.  But again, not a castle.  A monastery.

The Rock. Big. Foreboding. But again, not a castle. A monastery.

Pushed further towards Dublin with a stop at Kilkenny Castle. Now this actually was a castle, however, one like we’ve not come across yet. It was completed restored and redecorated as it appeared in the 17th & 18th centuries. Room after room decorated for the period was really amazing to see what it was once like. So elegant. You can tell the fuckers who lived here were mega rich (the Butler family).

The Rose Garden at Kilkenny Castle.

The Rose Garden at Kilkenny Castle.

The 19th century flushing toilet I think was my favorite thing, but only because it was so bizarre. And they must have had huge asses. They bowl was huge! I also liked all the old oil paintings of various characters from the castle’s past. These people mostly looked like assholes to me and I would say they were all pretty unattractive, but to see these centuries’ old paintings was very cool. To look at the clothes that were fashionable at that time was very interesting. They really do look like complete assholes, but I’m sure they were lovely chaps. If you were rich too.

My beautiful rose in the garden.

My beautiful rose in the garden.

The grounds and outside was immaculate. Reminded me of Wayne Manor (from Batman). Lush lawns that stretched away forever and a beautiful rose garden rounded out the visit.

 

Jenny & I at Kilkenny Castle.

Jenny & I at Kilkenny Castle.

Also didn’t mention that all those oil paintings which also contained a lot of scenery art, which was equally old, is really quite valuable and the place doubles as an art gallery. I’m not an art guy, but I really did enjoy looking at all the paintings, and I loved wandering through the restored and fully decorated castle.

That was another fun stop.

Passing through Hollywood, Ireland.

Passing through Hollywood, Ireland.  See the hillside sign?

Pressed on even further and tonight we find ourselves in the Wicklow mountains, south of Dublin, for the night. We’ve found the local pub and just had a terrific dinner and are enjoying pints deckside. A lovely evening is in store, I know.
We’ll be up in the morning and I’ve told the girls I’m taking them to breakfast at a place I learned about a few months ago in the town of Bray, Ireland on the way back to Dublin airport to drop the car. I can’t tell you here because Michelle will probably read this, but I’ll share it tomorrow and we’ll get pictures. I promise it’s cool.

The girls at some roadside ruin we stopped at in the Wicklow Mountains.

The girls at some roadside ruin we stopped at in the Wicklow Mountains.

That’s it for tonight.

Love,
Brentallica.

Leave a Reply

