Day 11 – Cliffs of Moher & Road to Dingle

23 Jun

Started the morning headed south towards the mighty Cliffs of Moher.

Jenny has become quite adept at finding us great breakfast spots and this mornings stop at The Strawberry Hedgehog in….I’m afraid I forgot the name, was brilliant. We talked with the owners who served up a delicious breakfast in the smallest, quaintest, little cafe you could ever imagine. Perched right on the edge of a fishing village, it was heaven. I’ll have to figure out the name of that town.

Looking out at the Atlantic over the countryside on our trip to the Cliffs.

Looking out at the Atlantic over the countryside on our trip to the Cliffs.

Next up were the Cliffs of Moher and they’re every bit as impressive as you’ve heard.  Rising 700 feet straight out of the ocean they run for 8km along the western coast of Ireland.  Waves smashing and crashing in below and the scenery is just breathtaking.  The wind was ferocious today.  I’d guess 35mph sustained winds and gusts to at least 60mph.  Probably more.  They were strong enough to move me and I was having fun leaning backwards into it to let it hold me up.  A couple gusts were strong enough to actually support me.

Sadly, my Kangol hat I’ve grown to love so much blew right off the top of my head and out onto the cliff.  It was only about 20 feet from the gate so I hopped it to go get it and someone told me the ground is very unstable and that would not be wise.  Jenny forbid me to go and so I said goodbye to my favorite hat.  😦

This picutre does NOT do these behemoths justice.  Truly awesome.

This picutre does NOT do these behemoths justice. Truly awesome.

It's hard to see, but there's my hat right at the edge of the cliff.  I wonder where it is tonight.  Lonely, missing me.... :(

It’s hard to see, but there’s my hat right at the edge of the cliff. I wonder where it is tonight. Lonely, missing me…. 😦

We boogied on down to the cutest little village of Adare and were lucky enough to get on the last tour of the day to the impressive Desmond Castle.  Really spectacular ruin and our tour guide was Mrs. Doubtfire, I swear to God.  There were maybe 12 of us and the only way to visit this castle is by guided tour from a heritage center in the middle of town.  Then they shuttle us up there.  More awesome castles completely off the beaten path.

Desmond Castle on the outskirts of Adare, Ireland.

Desmond Castle on the outskirts of Adare, Ireland.

I don't know if it gets any cooler than ancient castles.  This bitch went up in 1100.

I don’t know if it gets any cooler than ancient castles. This bitch went up in 1100.

We pressed on to Dingle which is a fishing village on the coast down in the south west of Ireland.  Had pints and dinner at Murphy’s Pub and then walked up through the small village.  It is so cute.

In the morn, we’re dropping off our laundry (finally, we think!) and then doing the Dingle Penninsula before we head back towards Cork tomorrow night.

All is well with the world.

Love, Brentallica.

Leave a Reply

