Little House on the Prairie

4 May

Constructing with cubes was a fun lesson and I felt more confident with the outcome than the mess I created the day before.  You get the idea.  The house is merely a cube.  Using lines from the base cube, you can add the window and door and keep everything somewhat in proper perspective.  The roof was easy to construct and keep proportion as well.  Did two drawings and the 2nd one turned out better than the first.  I can look at it and see about 50 problems, but at least there was some improvement.  One interesting thing Mark showed me is the subtle difference the rule of size provides.  The farthest shingles on the roof are a bit smaller than the ones on the closest edge.  This helps in showing true depth.  I think it’s cute and I see potential here.  A much better attempt than my first house I created in the test lesson at the beginning of the book.  My bushes have certainly improved.  🙂

2 Responses to “Little House on the Prairie”

  1. Grotski May 7, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    But where will the crack-hoes live?

    • Brentallica May 7, 2012 at 6:22 am #

      There’s a shed out back that you can’t see.

Leave a Reply

